Why I am excited about the Common Core.

It is an exciting time!

I am welcoming the change coming down the line with Common Core and here’s why.

1. The script is changing!

I am no longer chained to the teacher manual. I get to deviate from the plan. I get to create! I come from a district where everyone must teach the same page at the same time in the same way.  it is such a relief to see the beginning of the end of the robotic lock step I have had to teach in for the last 10 years.

2. It makes sense!

The flow of ideas from one grade to the next, especially in the math standards, make so much more sense than trying to cover everything every year with no mastery. Mastery is now a possibility. That makes sense.  As does the focus on learning from content based text.  Being able to decipher facts and bias are key skills in this day and age of pulling the wool over our eyes and spinning things to be what they really aren’t.

3. It’s Deeper!

I look at the breadth, depth and speed of what we have to get taught in a single school year and I get the image of a large very shallow lake or puddle, spread out in many directions. There is no time to really cover the entire thing and there is not enough to really go deep. If you are thirsting for knowledge, there is not enough to drink only drips and dribbles. With the Common Core it is more streamlined. More focused, deeper,  more a stream.  One you can dive into and get a good drink of.  I will be able to get students to think deeper. And more exciting,  students will be able to articulate their ideas and what caused them in the first place.

I’m looking forward to it. Now how will get assessed? That may evoke an entirely different emotion.

Leave a Reply

